February 27, 2015


The Town of Ossian has an elected five-member Town Council and an elected Clerk-Treasurer. The council meets on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 7 p.m. The headquarters of the government is the Ossian Town Hall, 507 North Jefferson Street, Ossian. The Ossian Town Council members are:
Brad Pursley President. Home address: 613 W. Bittersweet Dr., Ossian. Phone 622-1245.
Joshua Barkley, Vice President, Home address 901 Park St., Ossian: Phone 622-8666.
Terri Hughes-Lazzell, Home address 607 Woodcreek Dr., Ossian: Phone 403-0766.
Bill Miller, Home address: 301 Siebold St., Ossian. Phone 622-4058.
Tom Neuenschwander,  201 E. Craig St., Ossian. Phone 622-7261.

The Ossian Clerk-Treasurer is Jeannette Dickey office in the Town Hall. Home address, 213 Country Side Dr., Ossian; office phone 622-4251. Home phone 622-7168. The Deputy Clerk-Treasurer is Sally Bracke.

The Town Manager is Luann Martin.

Water and Sewage Utilities and Streets: Sewage Supervisor is Darrell Reynolds; Water Supervisor is Scott Kling; town duties are also shared by employees Joe Burton, Trent Fiedler and Keith Arnold. Contact the Town Hall, 507 North Jefferson St., phone 622-4251.
Utilities Policy: Contact the Ossian Town Hall, 507 North Jefferson, phone 622-4251 in the mornings to arrange for water and sewage hook-up. Allow three working days notice for the hookups.
Electric service by American Electric Power and United REMC. Natural Gas service by Northern Indiana Public Service Co. (NIPSCO), Telephone service by Frontier, Curbside Garbage, Trash, Recycling: Weekly collection for trash, bi-weekly for recycling. Monthly per unit charge by the town is $15.58. (The town’s contractor is National Serv-All)

Police Department: The Police Chief is David Rigney, Sergeant is Chad Foreman. Other officers are Stephanie Tucker, Brian McClish, and Curt Hunt. Reserve officers are Duane Klaus, Jimmy Robbins and Amanda Ballard.
Police Commissioners: Ron Werling, Andrew Wanner and Steve Shadle.

Ossian/Jefferson Township Park Board: The Park Board meets on the first Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at the Ossian Town Hall with the exception being months where Mondays fall on a holiday. When that occurs, the date of the meeting will be announced. The Park Board president is Steve Andrews, other Park Board members are Tim Rohr, Bill Dowty and Jason Heckber. As of print time, there were still two open positions on the board.

Storm Water Management Board Members: Chairman Tim Miller, Secretary Dennis Ramey, Vice-chair Rose Ann Barrick. The Storm Water Management Board meets on the last Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the town hall.

Economic Revitalization Committee: Kody Kumfer, chairs the committee. Judy Harkless is vice-chair. Jan Williams serves as secretary-treasurer. Other members are Marlyn Koons, Jim Brewer, Larry Heckber, Linda Hambrick, Cheryl Laley, Larry Smith, Jason and Nikki Dielman. Luann Martin, the town manager, acts as the town’s liaison on the committee. Member emeritus Natalie Milholland serves in an advisory capacity. Revitalization Committee meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Ossian Branch of the Wells County Public Library.
Fire Department: The fire station, emergency medical service and the rescue unit are all located at the Ossian Town Hall, 507 N. Jefferson St. The non-emergency phone number for the fire department is 622-4625.
Ben Fenstermaker, Chief; Eventt Norris, Assistant Chief; Darrell Reynolds, Captain; Jeff Miller, Captain; Adam Hannie, Captain; John Sherburne, Captain; Ric Bookmiller, Safety Officer; Kurk Haddix, First Responder Officer; Dan Sherrer, Board Member; Mike Lewis, Board Member; Mike Fenstermaker, Secretary. Firefighters are Nick Bechtold, Cody Burton, Lee Dettmer, Brian Donovan, Jay Garrett, Rob Gresley, Brice Lawrence, Andrea Miller, Heather Miller, Jeff Petrie, Cory Privett, Jeremy Schreier, Brian Shutt and Jay Werling.

« Back to all Fact Book articles
AdamsWells PhoneBooks LLC
Online Poll

At this point in time, who is your favorite Democratic presidential candidate?

View results | View archived polls »