Council on Aging

February 27, 2015


The Wells County Council on Aging (WCCOA) is located at 225 West Water Street, Bluffton, IN. The office hours of operation are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Bonnie Valind is the Executive Director. The office phone number is (260) 824-1070; the fax number is (260) 824-1010 and the email address is

The WCCOA provides transportation  services to the Wells County community, regardless of the resident's age or income status. Public Transportation hours of operation are from 6 a.m. through 7 p.m. Monday through Friday. The name of this service is Wells on Wheels. a.k.a. WOW! Please call the WCCOA office to inquire about fees and to schedule a ride. Senior Citizens are not charged rates, however, donations are appreciated.
The WOW! fleet includes 12 vans, 10 are wheelchair lift equipped. The agency provides transportation to any Wells County resident to destinations within a 50 mile radius of Bluffton.  To schedule a ride or to inquire abut services, you can contact the dispatcher directly by calling (260) 824-4WOW (4989).

Other services provided by the Council on Aging includes: In-Home Services such as Homemaker, Handychore, Assistance to the Homebound, Telephone Reassurance/Friendly Visitor, Information and Referral and Tax Assistance. Case Management, the Nutrition Site and Home-Delivered Meals are also available to Wells County residents. For additional information, please contact the office receptionist at 824-1070.
The organization has an al-volunteer Board of Directors. The board membership includes: President, Gary Merritt; Vice President, Mick Cupp; Treasurer, Ray Paxson; Secretary, Tim Ramsey; Tom Gibson, Dan Gordon, Jenny Weinstock and Aaron Garofola.

The staff members are: Bonnie Valind, Executive Director; Betsy Collier, Transportation Program Manager; Susie Ehlerding, Administrative Assistant. The Dispatch Staff includes: Kelli Van Zant, Sandra Bayne and John Steffen; In-home Services, Martha Hammons; Handyman, Kenny George; Van Drivers, Jack Brewster, Tom Butler, James Davis, Brian Johnston, Mike Kettleborough, Seth Mayer, George Moore, Jerry Sheets and Tony Shively.

« Back to all Fact Book articles
AdamsWells PhoneBooks LLC
Online Poll

At this point in time, who is your favorite Democratic presidential candidate?

View results | View archived polls »